Absolute Newbie looking for a 30

Oct 2, 2023
Catalina 30 Lake Tahoe
Hello, I'm so glad I found this forum. My wife and I have moved up to Lake Tahoe for retirement. This past summer we went on a couple of cruises on the lake aboard a Catalina 27. We loved it and will be taking lesons next season and hope to do that on our own boat. Our HOA has buoys for seasonal lease and they can accommodate up to a 30' boat. It appears as if there are quite a few Catalina 30's on the market here in California. A couple of questions:
What can we anticipate in the way of cost moving a 30' sailboat from San Diego to Lake Tahoe?
Is there a buyer's guide for Catalina 30's?
What are the normal areas needing attention on a Catalina 30 from the 80's? What's easily fixable and what's an absolute warning sign to stay clear?
Is there anything that might be nice to have while off shore cruising that isn't needed for sailing up here on the lake? I don't want to pay for something I won't be using on the lake?
This is just our first post and I'm sure we'll be loitering around as we identify some boats and work through the repairs. Thanks for assistance.

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
One of the biggest mistakes new boaters make is focusing on a single manufacturer. What you should do is focus on the best maintained boat you can find in your size/price range. Given you “don’t know what you don’t know”, you would be better served finding someone with boating experience who you can trust To sort through what is available. Keep in mind - Brokers don’t generally fit that description.

Apr 8, 2011
Hunter 40 Deale, MD
Thanks Don! So, employing the services of a surveyor might be the best path to take.