Shopping

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
Tohatsu and Mercury are the same. No you cannot get 20HP out of the 9.9. Tohatsu engines are as good as any in their class. Check the availability of the proper propeller size for your boat; The standard, serve all, stock propeller is seldom the best especially for inflatables.

capta

Jun 4, 2009
Pearson 530 Admiralty Bay, Bequia SVG
Yamaha has always been and still is the best outboard for a cruising dink, IMO. I have never felt that Merc made very good saltwater OB's, but I have no experience with these newer Tohatsus. A few cruisers I know have had mixed experiences with non-Yahama brands, from OK to the seller not honoring the warranty on serious defects on new motors.
The ONLY problem with Yamaha OB's is that because they are so reliable and common, they are often the target of thieves. There are excellent repair people everywhere for Yamaha, and parts are easily sourced, as well.
Often a 9.9 and a 15 are the same basic engine, with different carburation, but no way you are going to get 20 hp out of a 9.9!
We've had amazing luck with our 2007 Johnson 15, 4 stroke, expecting a year or two before failure, but it has always still is running like a top. One of the greatest things is that it is not the target of thieves, especially now @ 12 years old. But, as it is no longer manufactured and the new ones (Evinrude, Johnson has gone) are electronic, which is just asking for a dud engine, especially if one ventures beyond the horizon.
When the time comes to replace the Johnson, it will be a Yamaha 4 stroke, without hesitation. Our dink is our car, and is every bit as important to us as a car would be to someone who lives out in the country, far from public transportation, so it must be the most reliable and easily maintained.

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
If I was leaving the country, I'd buy a 2-stroke outboard while I was there. I'm not sure, but I've heard they are still available outside the U.S.