Total yearly costs of a Catalina 22?

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Joseph Zajac

I was wondering if someone could tell me how much older model Catalinas require in repairs each year? I'm a college student who has money saved to buy a sailboat, but need to have an idea of how much indirect and direct costs will be a year. I know there will be a high variance between numbers, but it would be nice to get some estimates. Thank you!

G

Gary

boat costs

All boats have certain built in costs....eg:insurance,berthing (if in water) or trailer registration,storage fees,boat registration, launching fees,and bottom paint (again if in the water). The variables are in how you intend to use the boat. If you intend to race it, then there are sails to purchase. If you want mylar sails they can be costly.A lot depends on the owner and what toys they may want to add to it. VHF, Stero,T V, new lines,maybe roller furling or possibly a small dodger. The list goes on. A person may even need to purchase an engine (or upgrade) there are tune ups, prop repairs etc.I hope I did not make the list too long cause sailing is worth every dime! Gary

R

Rico

A solid boat should serve