Too much heel

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Paul Walchenbach

Don: Do you have any helpful comments? The posts below are from the Big Boats forum. I just discovered this forum. Paul Michael, Thanks for your comments. I think you my be on to something when you suggest easing the main. The wind was at 90 to 120 off the starboard. The boat doesn’t handle well when seas hit the hull on the stern quarter, e.g. 150 deg or so. I thought that flattening the main would reduce the weather helm when perhaps I increased it. What do you think about the head sail issue? Chris: Rest assured, I am no sailing expert, and my post was no test. I was out in what for me was fairly rough water and I was just looking for feed back on my approach to keeping the boat under control. I was not sure where you saw a contradiction in my sea conditions relative to my helmsmanship. Perhaps I wasn’t clear in my description of the Straits. When I began the crossing the wind were 10 - 15 and the seas were 3 - 6 (worse right at Cattle Pass because of the adverse current). I had the main all the way up and the 135 unrolled all the way. As the wind built to 20 I put a reef in the main and rolled the headsail in to a 105 or so. The headsail was sheeted out some and had a large bag just aft of the leach. The waves grew very quickly to 15 feet if you measure from the bottom of the troth to the crest. I sheeted down, added vang, and dropped the traveler in an attempt to de-power the main. Based upon what Michael says, I should have introduced some twist into the main and dumped wind off the top. I will try that next time. What really bothered me was what my partner deems excessive heal. I am hopeful that this boat can be sailed in 25 knot and not be on its ear the entire time. My guess is that I just had too much sail up. My concern is that I do not relish going on the fore-deck to remove the 135 and hoist a 110-90 jib. Do you know of short-handed couples who do this? I have do it with a race cre