Soda Bottles for Replacement Floatation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 12, 2011
MacGregor Venture 22 Dana Point, CA.
Hi All, I just bought my first sailboat and I'm in the process of learning to sail. I bought a 1978 Macgregor Venture (I think) 22Ft. Every thing is there and the boat is in good condition with no soft spots and no damage to the swing keel bolt holes. I noticed that in the front hold that there are 2 large plastic lawn bags with styrofoam peanuts in them. It seems that the original foam has been removed. I would like to use part of that hold for storage and was thinking of replacing the huge bags of foam with 2 liter soda bottles that had the caps glued on and even using little water bottles to customize the fit. Has anyone ever tried this? I am not so concerned about sinking after I have some experience in sailing, but right now I am a novice in boating and it just gives me piece of mind. I know that some have used insulation boards from the hardware store as I've read in this forum. However, I am trying to do this on a budget.

Also, does anyone know where the battery is held for the running lights?

Thanks for the help.

May 4, 2005
Macgregor 26d Ft Lauderdale, Fl
why not....

as long as the container holding the flotation is sealed, and the bottles cant escape, I think its OK.

but you don't want to roll, and find all the bottles pop to the surface while the boat heads towards davie jones locker...

you could also get some closed cell foam (insulation 4x8' sheets) from home depot and glue them in place... (but costs $)

caguy

Sep 22, 2006
Catalina, Luger C-27, Adventure 30 Marina del Rey
I got some of the floatation foam blocks from the parking lot at Lowes for free. They use them to stack small utility trailers. The salesman in the parking lot told me to help myself.

Apr 12, 2011
why not....

as long as the container holding the flotation is sealed, and the bottles cant escape, I think its OK.