Replace Stuffing (while in the water)?

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bob

I'm interested in replacing the stuffing in the stuffing box for my '78 Hunter 30. I've never done this before - - and have been trying to find more information on this subject by checking the past forums on "stuffing box." The stuffing box is leaking quite badly right now - - about one drop a second with engine off! My question - - can I replace the stuffing while the boat is still in the water? I am reasonably mechanically inclined; have replaced almost all other systems on the boat (including the 'bulletproof' sanitation hose throughout!). I'm looking at low cost options - - not interested in the 'dripless' system at this point. Thank you!

R

Ron

Yes!

That's how I, as well as the boatyards do it. Just have all your tools ready and your bilge pump on. Probably a quart a minute enters the boat. There isn't that much clearance between the shaft and the tube to let a lot of water in. Now, have you tried adjusting the packing you have. Usually a slight turn on the nut will stop the leak unless it has been tightened prior to you going in there. Ron/KA5HZV

B

Bill O'Donovan

Dilemma