Reefing technique on selden in-mast furling system

Aug 3, 2015
Hunter 380 San Diego
I'm new to the world of in-mast furling and could use some advice. I just bought a Hunter 380 with an in-mast furling system and took her out for her maiden voyage last weekend in San Diego. I transported the boat from the east coast. The sails are like new and the boat was just re-commissioned and tuned by the finest rigger in San Diego. On Thursday, winds were light and my son and I took the main out with the outhaul, after slackening the Main In/Main Out lines. The main deployed beautifully with the power winch. Had a great sail and then pulled the main back in with the Main In, while the outhaul was slackened.
The next day we were going along nicely with the main fully deployed and just past Point Loma were hit with 30 knot winds. We struggled a bit with the lines to get the boat under control efficiently. Is the proper reefing technique to slacken the outhaul, reel in the main-in to an acceptable reef point, then adjust and tighten the outhaul? It's a bit confusing with the Main-in Main-out continuous loop.
Any help would be appreciated. I know it's just a matter of playing with it, but I'd like to know what other sailors with this rig do to reef.

Oct 1, 2007
Boston Whaler Super Sport Pt. Judith
I have marks on the foot of the sail for reef points. We ease the main until it luffs then crank in the sail with the furling line until the desired mark is up to the mast. I do the furling while my crew maintains a light tension on the outhaul. BTW, we NEVER use the power winch to do anything with the furling main. Why? In the event it gets stuck one could seriously damage the rig before realizing it.

Jun 11, 2011
Hunter 41 Lewes
I'm assuming this is a Selden furling main. First thing I do when the wind whips up is go forward and "lock" the furling drum. This allows the main to be furled in but not out. Then follow Rick's instructions, ease outhaul and furl.

Feb 26, 2004