Newb looking at a 77 catalina 22

zactus

Aug 7, 2019
Catalina 22 Holyrood
Hey Folks!

I'm new to sail boats and could use some advice. My wife and I live beside a small marina in our home town and I've been watching the classifieds for a while in hope of finding a good learner boat. I found one close by and took a look at the exterior over the weekend, but quickly realized I don't really know what potential problems I should be looking for.

I've attached some pictures i took when I passed by the yard ( https://imgur.com/a/UIpDsOE ). My biggest concern is the damage to the bow. If it's just a sand down and seal job I can handle that, but if it's a big job I'd like to avoid it. I'd also need to replace the U bolt on the bow.

The Boat comes with a 5hp merc, main sail, 3 genoa, 2 anchors, new cushions. Seller bought a bigger boat and is asking $2700.

It looks manageable to me but any advice would be appreciated. Should I move forward or run?

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
Welcome aboard both of you!
You're sure to hear from the C22 owners soon. How is the deck? Any soft spots? The C22 is a very popular boat and a good choice to learn on. Some pics would help, but before I'd pay $2700 for a '77 it would have to be in really good shape - not need patching.

Apr 11, 2017
Catalina C22 Solomon's Island, MD