Mast Gooseneck compressed into mast

Status
Not open for further replies.

lhodge

Apr 1, 2009
Hunter 36 Brockport NY
Glenn

I have a 2006 H36 that my wife and I have been sailing since 2006 along the east coast and the Bahamas. We are getting ready to return to Chesapeake Bay for the summer from the Florida Keys and are readying the boat. When checking the rigging I found that the gooseneck has 'compressed' into the mast at the lower portion of the mounting plate, the top part of the gooseneck is fine. No cracks in the mast. Except for a couple of weekend trips, we have sat on a mooring. Coming down we had to run the ICW due to weather so it isn't like we have beatup the boat over the past 6 months.

I have about 4 or 5 inchs of rake in the mast, the turnbuckles had been tightened with a small wrench and a screwdriver so not too much tension. The Selden rigid vang was bottomed out, has been since being launched by the dealer. I moved it out the boom a bit to get some end play in the vang.

I am hoping I can adjust the shrouds and safely get back to the Chesapeake and then have my dealer take a look. Any suggestions for now?

I have left a message with Hunter and I am waiting for a call back.

thanks
Larry

ghen

Mar 15, 2009
2 216 St. Augustine
Larry,

Do I understand that the mast wall at the bottom of the goooseneck has been bent? Can't figure what could have caused that. The Selden Mast on that boat is very beefy. I have seen that in a race boat with a whippy mast and that was caused by a jibe that had the boom dragging the water in a crash. I can't figure that the vang had anything to do with it. If at sea and I had to nurse it home, I would loosen the rigging and take out most prebend to reduce compression load. I would not sail until I could get it fixed. I cannot tell from your description how bad it is. If I saw it, it might scare the daylights out of me. That is not damage to play around with.

lhodge

Apr 1, 2009
Hunter 36 Brockport NY