Mast Exit Block Replacement

IanA22

Nov 21, 2019
Catalina 22 Bosham
Hi, first time on here. Looking for some advice.

I've recently bought a 1987 Catalina 22. In the UK. Yes, UK, really. Not a 'Jaguar'. A Cat22.

She's in pretty good shape but there's a few replacements needed. One of the first has me a bit stumped as I'm new to this. I need to replace the exit block for the in-mast halyard at the foot of the mast. The plastic wheel is falling apart and the block itself is only held on by two screws not four.
The good news is that the Cat-Direct site sells replacements. I pasted a screenshot of a a new one from their site below. Then, below that is the current one I need to replace.

1574347909775.png

current old block:-
1574348326152.png

My question to you wise Cat22 people : is this just a case of unscrew and re-screw the new block into the same holes? What type of screw - self tapping or any stainless steel? Or are the existing holes unusable because they've been screwed into already?

Any advice to a newbie really appreciated. How would you fix the new block on?

Thanks!
Ian

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
You may have to go larger if the holes are stripped out. I imagine that is why two are missing.
It might be possible to get a locknut inside for a machine screw but it's hard to tell.
That may be the saddest looking sheave I have seen. ;)

AaronD

Aug 10, 2014
Catalina 22 9874 Newberg, OR / Olympia, WA
...is this just a case of unscrew and re-screw the new block into the same holes? What type of screw - self tapping or any stainless steel? Or are the existing holes unusable because they've been screwed into already?
You can go with any of 3 types:
1) Stainless steel machine screws (316 stainless if you can find it - boltdepot.com and mcmaster.com here in the US, but you might need to look for other sources in the UK). Use Tef-gel or equivalent to isolate the SS from the aluminum.