Looking for help on buying an old boat

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jeff Walls

Over the Labor Day weekend I looked over a 1968 Bristol 29 Sailboat. This boat has been out of the water for about 8 years. It is well covered, and I saw no signs of any leaking under the tarp and in the cabin. The electronics (LORAN, VHF etc) have been taken out and stored inside, along with the sails and rigging. The mast and boom are outside, uncovered. The boat has an Atomic 4 gas engine, not run since. He wants $9500 for her. My questions are these: Being a sailing neophite, and not rich, what do I need to know to make an intelligent descision on whether or not to get this boat? What should I look for, structurally? There are no blisters on the hull. I am willing to do some work (I am not a mechanic, but semi intelligent), but what would you expect needs to be done before she is put in water? At approx what cost? I am at least an hour away from the nearest place I can dock her. Thank you for helping!!!

J

Jim Anzalone

The boat has an Atomic 4 gas engine

This is the big probelm area. Make sure it runs! You should get it checked by a profession. It is expensive to replace! Also, Check the winches, sails, cleats and electronic. Check for deck leaks and underwater through hull fittings. This is a good strong over build boat. Good thing the guy had it covers. Pull on the life line stansions and make sure they are good and tight. Make sure the deck is not spongy. Jim

J

Jim Wallace

Buying an older boat

Buying an older boat, Jeff, is comparable to getting married. It's not the initial investment, but the upkeep that will get to you. Get in touch with someone in your area that's familiar with boats and take them along to look at it. If you decide to buy it, write a contract holding some of the money back to insure everything, as the owner says, is in working order.

S

ssmith

Some Suggestions