I don't think I need a 9.9hp for a Mac25

Jan 10, 2011
Macgregor 25 675 Lake Lanier
I have been sailing my current boat for 3 years now. I have a 9.9hp 2 stroke engine. According to the GPS I can make 7.7 Knots into the wind at full throttle. I use lots and lots of fuel at this speed. I have never had the need to use all of the power. I have learned that my 52lb thrust electric will move the boat against a 20mph wind against the tide in a channel. I just need to drag the boat backward so the tall bow does not catch the wind and turn me around. I keep the electric for emergencies like having the return spring brake on the main engine when coming into the channel against the tide at the end of a very hot day(You can see the electric in the picture after it was used to get to the loading dock. The main engine lost the return spring and I was leaving that day. It got me to the dock the day before and then to the loading dock.).

The outboard will never die. It is older than I am(Johnson 10hp 1961) and still starts cold with 2 pulls and 1 pull the rest of the day. I think that it will last forever as long as it is taken care of properly.
I am planning to replace it with a 4 stroke very long shaft outboard. I would like to use less fuel, not have the engine come out of the water in waves and not be so loud.

I am thinking of getting a 6hp 4 stroke. It weighs about 60lbs. The 9.8 weighs 84lbs. Since I trailer the boat and take the engine off every time I move this makes a difference.

My main hesitation is that I have never tried a 6hp on my boat. Has anyone used a 6hp or less on a Mac 25 in high winds and ocean tides? Can you reach hull speed against a 20 mph wind with a 6hp? Will it hold the boat steady in front of a drawbridge with the tide and wind pushing you toward the bridge?