HURTH ZF HBW10 Transmission Replacement on Perkins 4.108

Apr 21, 2020
Shannon 38' Mizzen Ketch Seattle
Hi All,

Our Shannon 38' had a broken bilge pump which resulted in the Hurth HBW10 transmission being submerged in water for a few weeks and is now not working due to water flooding inside the transmission. The gear and prop is stuck in forward and moving the gear lever will not shift the gears. A mechanic advised that we buy an entirely new transmission, but because they no longer make the HURTH HBW10, the new transmission they recommended would not fit perfectly and the entire engine would need to be moved 1/2" - 1" and re-mounted. Moving the entire engine significantly adds to the labor costs of the job and the $7K quote ($2K new transmission, $5K labor) we got seemed really high. They are suggesting we need to haul the boat out of the water and then haul the engine out of the boat to do the work on a mechanics table. This all seems over the top to me, although I'm not a mechanic, so I have a few questions:

1. How hard is it to find a replacement transmission that will not require moving the engine, either a used/rebuilt HURTH HBW10 or another model/manufacturer that would be an exact size fit? If a different model/manufacturer, any ideas on what will fit?

2. Get the existing HURTH HBW10 rebuilt or try to find and buy a used HURTH HBW10? If repaired, any recommended shops?

2. Does the boat need to be hauled out to do the work of replacing the transmission? Seems like a gantry crane could be setup inside the cabin to life the engine 12" and move it to do the work and then lower it back in.

Thank you so much!

Luke

Feb 8, 2014
Columbia 36 Muskegon