Hunter 260 water ballast

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Roxie6

Glenn,
Sorry, novice here. I've started to sail on inland waters and have been out in 35 mph gusts with an H260, great time and boat. I haven't been able to find a straight direct answer to some concerns. Is it likely that a H260 can suffer a knock down with a full or reefed main with a gust of 30 mph max. and if so could it turtle, or will it always self right itself. Also does the H260 have positive floatation, since I don't see foam etc. inside.

PS. Why would the H260 have been designed with a 8"11" beam and touted as easily trailerable when all highways in N.America have a maximum vehicle width of 8'6" max. unless a special permit is aquiried. Just makes it more difficult to trailer legally.
... just some stress related thoughts.

ghen

Mar 15, 2009
2 216 St. Augustine
Roxie6,

The 260, like all keelboats can invert. There is a point on the stability curve where the boat is more stable upside down. I did not design the 260 but I would take an experienced guess that would be around 105 degrees. Less if you have people hanging on to the windward lifeline. That is why the boat is rated CE catagory C. To get the boat over that far it would take a largish wave or other external influence. The wind alone will not roll the boat over unless the wind was so strong (over 30 knots) that the windage of the hull has enough wind pressure on it to drive it past the limit of positive stability. It would take lot. Prudent seamanship will minimize the risk. I don't know if the boat has flotation as I didn't design it. In most all states the permit is inexpensive and easy to obtain. I think the designer (Chuck Burns) probably fougured that effort was worth the extra hull form stability and extra room inside. Hull form stability comes with added beam (as a rule). I remind you that I don't know the exact numbers for the boat so I am traking a guess.

R

Roxie6

H260

Glenn,