Fuel Limiter Screw Adjustment?

Sep 11, 2019
Hunter 49 2 San Diego,Ca
Hey all doing some work on my Yanmar 2gmf and I stupidly took apart the fuel limiter screw whoops!!
Anyway the manual says it is set at the factory and only manufacturer should set it!!
So I need to adjust it to the correct specs any tips/advice please??
Help me OB1 your my only hope..

RoyS

Jun 3, 2012
Hunter 33 Steamboat Wharf, Hull, MA
Is this the device that limits maximum engine RPM? If so, purchase an optical RPM meter (not overly expensive), find your published maximum engine RPM in your manual. Warm up engine in neutral. Slowly approach maximum RPM as displayed on meter and set the screw to hold that maximum RPM. Optical RPM Meter is good for checking your boat tachometer accuracy, also.

RoyS

Jun 3, 2012
Hunter 33 Steamboat Wharf, Hull, MA
Oh, that screw. I thought you meant the sealed maximum throttle screw. I have no experience or opinion on the fuel limiter screw.

Sep 11, 2019
Hunter 49 2 San Diego,Ca
To set .. Not a job for the weak hearted! Hope this points ya in the right direction..
I already had to take off the timing cover to replace the gasket which was leaking and I removed and reinstalled the injection pump which is why I was fiddling around with the Limiter screw so I could get the pin on the injector pump to go into the slot for the governor lever…
Anyway I read through both the PDFs very helpful but I’m still not a hundred percent sure what’s going on if you could explain in layman’s terms that would be helpful.?
Also couldn’t I screw that screw in a little bit then start the engine run it at maximum throttle which wouldn’t go to maximum because I screwed the screw in and then back off till it hits 3500 rpm?

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana