Diesels love their oil like a sailor likes his rum.

Jan 10, 2016
Islander Wayfarer 37 Sloop Key West
Couldn't resist that line from the movie, Captain Ron.
So, I'm working on a boat with a Westerbeke Universal M-35B. The PO had no issues with the motor. When the new owner started the engine for the first time it fired up and ran very nice but we noticed the oil pressure gauge was at zero. I think it's likely the gauge is not working but don't want to run the motor any until we can confirm oil is circulating. Although I'm a decent mechanic on all things gasoline, diesel confounds me, no experience. All those funny hoses and boxes that do I don't know what. So needless to say I'm looking for 2 things. 1, how to know if oil is circulating and if so how to check the gauge.
Thanks

• Ha
Oct 29, 2016
Hunter 41 DS Port Huron
I don't have any experience with a Westerbeke, but I did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night......
There should be a oil pressure switch as well as a gauge, if the idiot light isn't coming on I would think that you would be good. My bet would be on the oil pressure sending unit, which can be replaced for <$100 attached is an example....

Feb 10, 2004
Hunter 40.5 Warwick, RI
It could also be a broken/corroded wire between the sensor and the gauge. If you T/S this to be a bad sender, check this out:

Attached is a T/S procedure to determine the problem. It works on all typical USA standard brands of gauges. Checks the gauge and wiring. For sure you don't want to run the engine until you are certain that the oil is circulating. You do have oil in the engine, don't you?

Attachments

• Helpful
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Starting and stopping the engine then looking under the oil cap will tell in a second if you have oil circulating. Or you can be bold and disconnect one of the oil hoses or loosen the oil filter. Oil flying out is a dead giveaway that you have oil under pressure.
Westerbeke Oil.jpg