Catalina 22 Mast Stepping

Feb 20, 2016
Catalina 22 Palm Harbor
Okay......I am new at this and looking for some guidance on raising and lowering the mast.
My 1987 Cat 22 is on the way form New Mexico to Florida. I've seen all the U Tube Video with and with out Gin Pole. This is keeping me awake at night only because I plan to have the bottom done at our local boat yard and they want +$200 to do it for me. I would like to DIY and concerned that I may need another person to help with this endeavor. I am ordering the Mast System to assist with this process. I have also read the Owners Manual step by step. All that I know leads me to believe that once I concur this effort, I can enjoy sailing. I am not a trailer sailor and the boat will be moored after the bottom is completed. I am sure I am making a whole more out of this than its worth.
Looking for easing the anxiety over this issue, so any encouragement or Web Site help will be gracefully accepted.

Stepping the Mast on a Catalina 22

ShawnL

Jul 29, 2020
Catalina 22 3603 Calumet Mi
It's really not as bad as you're making it out to be. Without a big mast crutch, etc. I don't think I'd want to do it without 2 people. We trailer sailed last year, and are on a mooring this year. If we were going to continue to trailer sail, I'd definitely purchase or make the mast raising system from Catalina Direct. From your other post, it looks like your boat may already have it which will help a lot. I'd also recommend 2 or 3 people the first time if you can manage it -- one extra to help lift and one to un-tangle anything. We've only ever done it with 2, but it's easy to snag things with the shrouds no matter how careful you are, especially the first time.