Capri 18 or Capri 22?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scott

I am a novice sailor and am considering buying the Capri 18 or 22 for family (two adults, two kids) bay/ocean sailing (San Diego area). We have sailed both on a demo basis and have liked the fact that the mainsail traveler on the 18 can be easily rigged to the stern vs.in the middle of the cockpit floor (it seems in the way for 4-6 people in the cockpit).Other than price, has anyone else got input re: the pros and cons of the Capri 18 vs. the 22? - particularly relative to handling on the ocean?

V

Vaugh Buck

Capri 18 or 22

The 22 will handle higher winds better and go through chop better due to it's larger size and greater displacment. Neither is an ocean boat. If you're going to trailer sail, the 18 would be the way to go. I have Capri 22 and love it. I singlehand on the Chesapeake Bay with no problems up to about 20knts of wind. Some rail meat would be nice. The traveler in the middle is a bit of a problem, BUT on the stern you'd get strangled by the main sheet if you have to switch sides quickly. Also, I don't think it would be as effective at controlling the slot. I don't think you can go wrong with either boat so buy the 18 since you seem to like it better. I don't think 6 are going to be very comfortable on an 18, it would be tight on the 22 unless you like to sit very close.

B

Bryan Sperling

18 or 22?