Best Trailerable Sailboat For Cruising The Keys

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Ed Doran

I am an experienced powerboater getting ready to buy my first sailboat - it is a daunting task. The boat must be leagally trailerable, 22' - 25' long, stable, and easy to sail for a beginner. I'm not interested in racing, I just want to cruise the Florida Keys and western Florida. Since I'm new to sailing, I don't know if I trust the sailboat dealers to give me completely honest answers. I was hoping some of you might have hands-on experience in this kind of cruising and be able to shed some light on the sailboat selection process. One of my major concerns is if a water ballast boat would be suitable? Many of these are very roomy and easy to launch, but will they stay upright in an enexpected blow? I would appreciate any comments or suggestions. Thanks!

J

Jeff Griffin

Water ballast boat stability

I have a Hunter 23.5. Sailed and trailered all over. In Lake Michigan I went out into winds 28 mph with gusts to 32. Six foot seas were rolling. I was reefed, and kept the mainsheet loose to dump it in a gust. I stayed dry, had great control, and had a ball. I called it "rodeo sailing", hang on anwait for the bell. I've been in serious weather before and have never had a problem. Planning ahead is a major factor. I sailed the Keys in this boat this past winter, and lived aboard.

M

Mark

Get down to a marina

and try a few yachts. The water balast yachts are great!

T

tom

1988 Mac 26