1987 Catalina 22 inspected to buy

TimG

Aug 31, 2019
Looking for a Catalina 22 Catalina 22 Maricopa Az
Hello everyone new here, I am new to everything about sailing and sail boats, I went to inspect a 1987 Catalina 22 yesterday. The owner actually took me out for a sail with it. Thank goodness for this forum , I was able to with the knowledge I have received from this forum find potential problems, The said in the beginning that there is leak under the table where the lock for keel is located, I have read ,that should be easy fix, I was somewhat comfortable with that , But after returning to the dock and attempting to load back on trailer,
I noticed the keel guide on the trailer was bent way to one side.
This almost 1/2 inch steel that holds the 4x4 ,
So if the keel hit it so hard to bend this steel over , could the keel trunk be damaged? Should I run away from this boat ?
Thanks for any feed back

Apr 11, 2017
Catalina C22 Solomon's Island, MD
Welcome - I'd really want to determine exactly where the leak is coming from. It could just be the keel lockdown bolt leaking (fixable), or it could be a small crack in the keel trunk, from hitting the keel guide on the trailer. (Major pain) Hard to say, but if it's a crack in the keel trunk, I'd keep looking. If you are serious, can you ask the seller to float it again, so you can determine for sure? What is the owner saying happened to the trailer keel guide?

TimG

Aug 31, 2019
The owner has lent the Catalina out to a friend in the past , He seemed to be surprised when him and I noticed the keel guide bent like that,
The marina sailboat shop has serviced the the keel and painted the bottom with VC 17 paint , which is pretty well scratched up , maybe a picture or two Thanks for the reply

Attachments

May 23, 2016
Catalina 22 #12502 BSC