Zinc Saver

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Joe O

A friend of mine gave me a "Zinc Saver" which is an electronic component that connects between the boat's AC ground and bonding system. It monitors and reduces the potential current to the boat's ground, thereby reducing (eliminating?) the electrolsis process. If this system works right, it should reduce the deterioration rate of the zinc collars on my prop shaft. The plus would be a smoother running shaft. However, another friend of mine has heard of zinc saver malfunctions and the result was rapid electrolsis and severe damage to the underwater metals (prop, propshaft. rudder post, etc). Have any of our Hunterowners out there in sailing-cyberland installed a zinc saver and if so has it performed to your expectations? Appreciate any response! JoeO

B

Bruce

Galvanic Isolators

I'm no electrical engineer, but work and sail with some and the "zinc savers" or galvanic isolators make a lot of sense when someone explains the problem with keeping your shore power cable attached. The galvanic isolator blocks the current from entering through your ground line, which is a major source of galvanic action, but allows the AC ground to carry full amperages. I put one on my boat and am surprised they are not more common. Apparently there were some problems with early models, but those have been taken care of and the isolators meet ABYC requirements. West Marine sells them.

P

Peggie Hall/Head Mistress

I'm a bit confused...

But then, my expertise is in plumbing...I know just enough about electrical systems to be dangerous, and with that in mind, something doesn't seem to be adding up: We put zincs on our boats to protect them from electrolytic corrosion. Now someone is asking about a "zinc saver" device to protect the zinc that's protecting the boat. (What's next--a device to protect the "zinc saver?") If the "zinc saver" protects the zinc, isn't it also doing the zinc's job? Why would you need both?

R

Ron Dague