Yanmar ysb12

Mark F

May 20, 2017
s2 9.2 Holland MIchigan
I purchased a project s2 9.2a (sat for 3 years) which has a ysb12 engine aboard and as I am new to diesel inboards, I have many basic questions. I have found some info on the web, but I would like some confirmation. I did get the engine to start, but shut it off right away. I have purged all the fuel lines, re primed the system with fresh fuel and it started up quite well. Now my next step is to change the fluids. I am planning on using Rotella T 15w 40 for the engine, but I am unclear as to what fluid goes into the transmission and how much. Also I am unclear as to drain the engine and transmission. I know that I can draw it out from the fill hole, but I am hoping there is a easier way. I have not been able to locate a service manual to download or purchase, if someone has some ideas. Thanks.

May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
Also I am unclear as to drain the engine and transmission. I know that I can draw it out from the fill hole, but I am hoping there is a easier way..
Get your self a vacuum oil extractor like http://www.defender.com/product3.js...mp-5-liter&path=-1|2285701|2349116&id=2034743 -- the engine will either have the drain plug re-routed to just above the oil pan - or you suck it out of the dip stick hole. Be sure and warm up the engine for a minute or two (not too hot) so the oil is extracted easier. Transmission oil usually comes out the fill hole (usually ATF or 30wt depending on trans).

Don't go cheap and get a pump - they are just an oily mess.

Les

RAD88

Dec 15, 2008
Hunter 30 Glen Cove, NY
I have an original service manual and a copy of the operations manual . PM me if interested.
The service manual is for the YSE engine but its all pretty much the same powerplant. I have never seen a manual for the YSB.