Yanmar 2gm20f not going over 2k rpms

Jun 11, 2019
Hunter 30 Port Canaveral
I just recently bought a 79 hunter 30, first sailboat ever so I'm still learning. When I first got the boat the motorwould give lots of black smoke and notgo over 1200rpms. Since then I have had the prop and bottom cleaned, prop and shaft were pretty bad but bottomlooked clean. Also I have done fuel filters, added biocide and a stablizer to the fuel. I have done oil, oil filter, air filter, cleaned raw water strainer, allnow hoses, new mixing elbow, and new belts. It now runs good , no blacksmoke but won't go past 2000rmps. I'm getting 5.5 knots at full throttle at the2000rmps, no smoke at all. Any helpwould be appreciated

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
I presume it goes above 2000 in neutral?

Do you know if it is the original prop, or what its size/pitch is? Being over-propped could hold the RPMs low.

Jun 11, 2019
Hunter 30 Port Canaveral
Actually no it goes about the same in neutral... And I have no idea on the prop, something I'll have to look at

May 17, 2004
Try checking it with an optical tachometer, to confirm the one in the boat is reading accurately?

Jun 11, 2019
Hunter 30 Port Canaveral
I will have to go get a optical tachometer to check it. Where do you measure the rpms at on the motor?

May 17, 2004
Crank shaft pulley should work. The other pulleys will spin at different rates depending on their size, but the crank shaft is the engine speed, and is generally pretty accessible.

Jan 19, 2010
Catalina 34 Casco Bay
If your RPMs are correctly reading at 2K, then it would appear a fuel delivery issue is at hand. Several possibilities: fuel pump, fuel tank vent, tank shut off valve and lastly injectors...

Jun 11, 2019
Hunter 30 Port Canaveral
Ok... I have a few things to go on now, I will check the the rpms with the optical tach. I'll look into the shut off valve and the vent hose , also check the prop size and see what I get from that

Nov 22, 2011