working the main sheet

• Thread starter frank barbehenn
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

frank barbehenn

My question: I am a novice. I am not sure how to handle the main sheet which is attached aft combined with tiller handling. Specifically, if I keep the main sheet uncleated, how do I "carry" the main sheet and in which hand while I work the tiller? I am concerned about working the sheet in gusts while steering. I also have a flying scot, but there the main is attached to the centerboard console and is much more intuitive. I work the main in one hand while the tiller with the other...easy to let main out and trim in while working the tiller. I cannot seem to find the knack, the balance, the efficient way to work both in the Cat. Appreciate any advice!!! Frank

Jun 5, 2004
- - Greenwich, CT
Catalina 22 mainsheet

Frank: Take a look at how I set up my mainsheet at the link below. It is more similar to your Flying Scot. Outside of that, I found the fidle block cam cleat as supplied by Catalina too tight for quick use. I replaced that fiddle block with a Harken one and replaced the Harken cam cleats in that with Ronstan cam cleats.

F

frank barbehenn

mainsheet block and cleat placement

Follow up question: what about putting the mainsheet block and cleat on the cockpit floor right under the tip of the rudder instead of the cabin threshold?? this way, sheet not in way of passenger. Thoughts??

Jun 5, 2004
- - Greenwich, CT
C-22 mainsheet cleat placement

Putting something on the cockpit floor is fine. This might be best with a barney post. I just don't like stuff I can trip on or bang a foot into. The mainshet will only run into people near the bulkhead when on a run, broad reach or possibly beam reach. This really is no different than vessels that have the traveler track positioned in front of the cabin.

M

Mike

Leave it where it's at!