US coast guard approved life jackets in Canada

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 20, 2011
Hunter H340 Campbell River, BC. Canada
I guess this is mainly for Canadian boater.
Was wondering if anyone has run into problems using US Coast Guard approved life jackets in Canada?
Has anyone had a Canadian Coast Guard inspection where US jackets were an issue?

May 6, 2004
Hunter 37C Seattle
I don't have enough (12) flares or 50 ft of floating heaving line. I don't have waterproof flashlight either.

TonyW

May 16, 2004
Hunter 41 Trident Yacht Club
Seattle Scott, with your 3 reqd flares in the States you would find that # totally inadequate if you were a few miles offshore and had a problem, so more is actually a good thing if you want you want to be found, a good idea to have SOLAS flares as well. Try and retrieve someone with 50' of line, that's not very far from your boat in rough conditions, yes I'm a safety inspector for CPS,

Johnb

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 37-cutter Richmond CA
Are there any PFD's that have both Canadian and US approval?

I have canoed from Dawson City Canada to Circle Alaska on the Yukon River some 7 times and always used just one PFD - never thought about it before.

Johnb

Jan 22, 2008
By the way Monicatony, in the US CPS stands for child protective services.........

Jan 20, 2011
I have never heard of approval for both US and Canada for life jackets. I guess it makes too much sense.
Of course this approval business does not apply to a US boat in Canadian waters or the reverse.
The rules does say it must be Canadian approved but so far, I have not heard from anyone that ran into an issue with it.
Like, if you import a boat from the US, throw away your life jackets because they are not safe anymore. Those life jackets are not cheap and for the want of a label that meets bureaucratic standards they are no good north of the boarder eh.

Jun 3, 2004
Hunter 34 Toronto, Ontario Canada