To Paint or Not to Paint

Jun 6, 2015
Catalina 25' Madeira Beach, FL
I'm a complete newbie to sailing. I recently bought my first sailboat, a used 25' Catalina. I've sailed her by myself numerous times. I've put in a lot of time and effort in fixing her up, but now my diver/cleaner tells me I need a paint job!? WHY? What's the worst that can happen if I don't paint (the hull) her??? :naughty:

Feb 8, 2014
Columbia 36 Muskegon
The barnacles will build up and get so thick and lumpy that she will hardly move under sail or power. If left long enough, the buildup can get heavy enough to sink a boat. And they are very difficult to remove once they get attached. All boats left in the water need bottom paint. Different paints work better in different areas, you should inquire with other sailors in your area what works best.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
That's correct. You might want to do some homework on anti-fouling paint, aka bottom paint. Vendors' websites explain it quite well.

Jun 6, 2015
Thanks guys for your input. Yeah, but....

I understand the "build up" of barnacles, but that's why I pay a diver to clean them off every month! But, if I don't paint (right now) will the barnacles eat out a section of the hull??? lol...

In researching paints, I can understand why you'd need to paint a power boat, but a sailboat??? My diver tells me that he doesn't see any blisters in the fiberglass, and the boat is a 1980. The people I bought it from owned it for four years, and I'm pretty sure they never painted the hull, and it's still floating! (-:

Give me some worst case scenarios if I don't paint!

In the short time that I've owned and sailed her, this boat moves out quite well under sail. I've never had a radar gun put on it, but people who have seen it sail, tell me she's a fast boat...

Even I got it painted, it would still require monthly cleaning??? Am I right or wrong???

Oct 22, 2005
Hunter 44DS Redondo Beach, CA