To buy or not to buy: neglected Catalina 27

Feb 23, 2017
Catalina 27 Bowen
Hey Sailors,
I'm new to sailing with only a few lessons and a few more hours logged, But have wanted to sail as long as I can remember. I've recently taken on a contract working on an island, and commuting from the city daily, not too bad really, (a short bus ride and quick ferry,) but after six long days a week, I often dread the trip. As a cheap solution I was offered a couple of boats to use as floating bedrooms. One not worth mentioning, another, a rather neglected Catalina 27, seems a bit more viable. Then a third option surfaced, a 26 foot Reinell, and now I'm a bit confused. My dream of taking to the sea has firmly taken hold and now I want a project boat that I can get out of the marina and properly learn to sail. The asking price for the Reinell and the Catalina are both around $1200 CAD. The Reinell seems to be in better condition and is offered with a generator and dinghy, but needs a motor, offered from a different seller for $300 plus installation. I've done a bit of snooping online and it seems that the Catalina is a more desirable boat, but while the hull and deck seem to be sound, this one is missing batteries, needs a new throttle lever, and a gate valve in the head and the mast has fallen. Are either of these worth the time and money as a first hobby sailboat?
Opinions and info are welcome from all.
Thanks!

Last edited:
May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
I would run from both - early Reinell's did not sail well (they motor fast for a sailboat tho) - and only sold to people who knew nothing of sailing. With a "fallen" mast the Catalina would not b a good buy (and gate valve are a bad idea in a boat) - does the 27 even have a holding tank?? early models were direct discharge.

Aug 1, 2011
Catalina 270 255 Wabamun. Welcome to the marina