Teak handrails - reinstall

Jul 25, 2016
Catalina 22 Sacramento
Hi All - I finally completed painting the decks with Kiwi Grip. It looks great - for a total newbie job! I'll post a pic tomorrow.

Now I need to reinstall everything. How do you recommend installing the grab rails? The bow handrail was installed with screws from inside the cabin. I think that I will reinstall these the same way, but use fender washers and finish washers to give it a more refined look.

The cabin top handrails were installed with bolts, with the bolt head and finish washer from inside the cabin. The nuts were accessed from the top and finished with a bung. Is this how you have your cabin top handrails installed? I was wondering if it would be easier to have access to the nut in the cabin?

Also, do I "over size the hole in the handrail, at least part of the way, to allow access to the nut and the installation of a teak bung?

Always learning (usually the hard way though...),
Kevin

Sep 30, 2013
1988 Catalina 22 North Florida
Through-bolted would be the strongest way for sure. But mine are just wood-screwed from inside, with oval head screws and countersunk washers.

Sep 14, 2014
Catalina 22 Pensacola, Florida
Dont over think it. the rails are really set on a cabin top so low that only small children or midgets can actually use them for grabbing on to go forward along the side deck. They are mostly decorative and keep floaties sliding overboard. But handy for drying swimwear.

Jul 13, 2015
Catalina 22 #2552 2252 Kennewick, WA
As @Gene Neill noted-- screwed from inside the cabin with finish washers is likely the factory version. In redoing my own (and having not had the originals to replace) my adapted set didn't conform to the inevitable native curves of the cabin top. I used a fair amount of weight ( gallons of water ) and worked linearly down the rail-- but it did cross my mind that a through bolt with a bung from the top would be far superior mechanically.

greg_m

May 23, 2017