Swing keel cracks

kdwood

Jul 17, 2018
Catalina C 22 Lake Dardanelle, AR River
I am brand new to sailing and recently purchased a 1984 Catalina 22. I have not had her off the trailer yet, as I have been trying to figure out the rigging and doing as much ground work as required to be comfortable on the water. Apparently I missed some cracks in the swing keel when I purchased the boat. It appears the damage may be from resting on the trailer’s keel support over an extended period. The trailer and boat were stored Indoors for the past 8 years. I fully intend to have the cracks repaired; however, I am really eager to get her on the water. My question is would it be ok to sail her until the cooler weather and then have the keel repaired later, or do I run the risk of further, catastrophic damage? Your input and advice would be most appreciated.

Attachments

Mar 20, 2015
C&C 30 Mk1 Winnipeg
Most C22s have cast iron swing keels.
Looks like you got lucky and got one where a previous owner got the updated lead+fibreglass keel ?
If so, the lead obviously won't rust, but fibreglass could get worse.
Depending on what the problem is, it could be simple to partially repair it, thereby preventing additional damage, and worry about smoothing out the repair later.

Sep 30, 2013
1988 Catalina 22 North Florida
Most C22s have cast iron swing keels.
Looks like you got lucky and got one where a previous owner got the updated lead+fibreglass keel ?
Precisely right. Dang, I wonder what caused that??? I WANT one of those keels someday sooner than later, so I certainly hope it took a hell of an impact.

@kdwood, that IS a $2000+, plus shipping, special-order keel. You are extremely lucky to have it. I have no idea if sailing with it broken open that way would hurt it, but I personally would not. I'd fix it - even just just quickly and roughly - before getting it wet. Like Leeward said, you can always fix it "right" at a later time.