Single hand Setup

Sep 4, 2016
Macgregor 26s Rankin
Ok so been working on my 26s and having a ball doing it. Now I have a question about setting up the running rigging for single handed enjoyment. My current setup I believe is basically stock winches on either side of popup top. With cam locks close to these. Looks like have 1 for furler line and 1 for jib halyard on port, 1 on each side for genoa sheets, and 1 for single line reefing and main halyard on starboard. As these are very old and worn they need to be replaced. I have some experience sailing but not on this boat. So with the combined superior experience please educate me on the best changes or upgrades I can make too make this an easy single hand boat. Also not sure if it make a difference but will be used on inland lakes in Tx. Thanx

Jan 31, 2013
MacGregor Mac26X Trailer sailing for adventure,
stop. go slow. go sail. drink a beer. sleep on it. it's worn but works. it's going to take a few year to tune it. don't buy ready made sheets. maybe two years from now you will be done replacing that. it's best to relax and enjoy, learn the boat's sensations. Maybe at year 3 start thinkinging to tune the rig, mast to 5 degrees aft. buy some new sails at year 4. goal is to relax and enjoy. somewhere in that time line get a tiller pilot.

HMT2

Mar 20, 2014
Hunter 31 828 Shoreacres, TX
In the winch world old does not mean done. (As opposed to the wench world.) Chances are excellent that you can clean them up, regrease them and maybe replace a few pawls or springs and have more than adequate winches for your use. New or even used winches eat up a lot of Benjamins.

Sep 4, 2016
Macgregor 26s Rankin