Seawater in sink

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Brad Cavedo

On the P 42, has anyone figured out how to keep the seawater from coming into the forward head's sink when sailing on a port tack?

Rick D

Jun 14, 2008
Hunter Legend 40.5 Shoreline Marina Long Beach CA
One-way Water

Brad, on another boat, I put a non return valve in-line. Rick D.

B

bill walton

P.I. A. method

The check valve idea never occurred to me. Another P42 owner suggested that when the breeze picks up, we should close the through valves for both sinks. That's what we do but as you know, they're not the easiest to reach.

P

Peggie Hall/Head Mistress

Close the seacock, Brad!

When underway, *ALL* seacocks should be kept closed except while in use.

E

Ed Schenck

Please excuse...

my ignorance as I'm new to this. I've had my "new" H37C out about six times. But why would you close the "seacocks" when underway? The one for the galley sink is not too bad but also the sea water engine cooling and toilet? These require pulling up floorboards. Everytime someone wants to use the head I'd have to leave the helm. Incidentally, on an H37C the forward sink has no seacock. I keep the sink stopper in place, stops the gurgling noise.

Sep 24, 1999
Hunter H46LE Sausalito
hey ed!

No seacock for your forward sink? That's frightening. I'd get one put in ASAP. And no, I don't close the engine raw-water intake when sailing. I don't want to have to run down below to turn the engine on in a tight situation, and I certainly don't want to run the risk of forgetting to turn it on and running the engine dry.

D

dave fraser

Read your owners manual