Screw anchors? For interior modifications.

Macboy

Aug 8, 2014
Macgregor 26S Sherwood Park, Alberta
Are there any shallow anchor sort of things I can use for attaching interior additions to the inner liner? I'm thinking of the way drywall anchors work but I know those are too long/deep. I'd be doing things like adding strips which I could then screw into or use as supports - either temporary or permanent.

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
epoxy adhesive or fiberglass tabs

AaronD

Aug 10, 2014
Catalina 22 9874 Newberg, OR / Olympia, WA
I'm no expert here, but I'll chime in with my limited experience anyway. I'm assuming your interior liner is fiberglass, of ~1/16-1/8" thickness.

For low-load attachments, you can tap threads into fiberglass. @thinwater says at https://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/2017/02/stainless-steel-bolt-specifications.html that you need 1-2 bolt diameters to get full strength of the screw. So there's no way you'll get full strength (and I'm not sure if that scales down linearly to #6 or #8 screws anyway). But for some applications, you don't need anywhere close to full strength. So in that case, you might be able to skip support strips and just screw in directly to the liner. Previously, I've mostly used sheet-metal screws, but always find it hard to select a hole size that will let the threads engage properly without undersizing and splitting out the fiberglass. So I'm switching to tapping and machine screws instead. We'll see how it goes.