Scientific Definition Of Sailing Terms

May 17, 2004
Other Catalina 30 Tucson, AZ
Ship mates: I talk to a lot of sailors (phone, letters, Email) and in 99% of the cases I can provide a simple answer. I have no scientific background in anything -- I'm just a country boy with some basic common seaman sail trim skills, which I try to convey to sailors in a simple, easy to understand fashion. In fact, the forward of my book states the following "If you wanted a scientific presentation that includes intricate details, together with complicated formulae for hull speed, wave lenght and endless verbiage then this book is not for you" . I know there are sailors on this forum that could easily help me answer this letter. Any help you can give me will be appreciated.

Here's the letter:
Don,
I dropped a hint to my wife and she got me your book for Christmas. With the sailing season well under way here in Missouri, I have been going over the material in the book again. I have some questions and a comment.