Rustoleum Thinned

Dec 11, 2015
Hunter 25 Plymouth
Well, spring preparation for me has officially started for summer boating. I've been disappointed in boat paint since I first started painting with interlux paint as a boy in the 70s so I've been seeking alternatives. I'm a fairly skilled painter being trained during summers between college but boat paint for me has been an enigma. They always run and dry right behind me when I attempt to wipe the runs out with a brush. I've used brush thinner and other additives with little luck. Yesterday I decided to experiment on my transom with the reasonably priced and renown name, Rustoleum. Unfortunately the same thing happened, it dried within seconds and when I tried to wipe it out with a brush it left dry streaks so I took a rag and cleaned it all off. Frustrated, I decided to try any petroleum product I had available (since I was experimenting until I paint the remainder of my boat). I have old fuel from last year that had gasoline, 2 stroke oil and a fuel saver in it. I mixed 3:1 and applied it. Fantastic results! The paint went on with very little brush strokes showing, it gave me more time to wipe the paint out, it didn't run and the shine is amazing! I realize that it's highly flammable but I'm painting outside and it dries very quickly. We'll see if it stands the test of time.

Last edited:

TomY

Alden Forum Moderator
Jun 22, 2004
Alden 38' Challenger yawl Rockport Harbor