Registered users don't see ads

Rules question: what if you touch a bridge that is a mark on a course?

Discussion in 'Racing' started by Jackdaw, Jun 11, 2018. Add this thread to a FAQ

  1. Kermit

    Kermit

    Joined Jul 31, 2010
    4,473 posts, 1,615 likes
    Hunter 260
    US Lake Murray Sailing Club, SC
    I’d say screw the race if I could decide between being legal and not destroying my boat.
     


  2. Rick486

    Rick486

    Joined Oct 1, 2007
    916 posts, 142 likes
    Hunter 44DS
    US Pt. Judith
    Too bad no boat protested just to test the definition. On the other hand, after the crew struggled to save their boat, it would have taken a real (something) to protest them.....:(
     


  3. Daveinet

    Daveinet

    Joined Sep 20, 2014
    844 posts, 137 likes
    Rob Legg RL24
    US Chain O'Lakes
    Do the rules differentiate between a boat and a person? The boat can't touch, but does that also mean crew?
     


  4. Davidasailor26

    Davidasailor26

    Joined May 17, 2004
    1,103 posts, 172 likes
    Beneteau Oceanis 37 LE
    US Havre de Grace
    No difference. A boat is defined as both the "sailboat and crew onboard". The rule about touching a mark applies to the "boat", so that's everything.
     


  5. Meriachee

    Meriachee

    Joined Aug 1, 2011
    2,442 posts, 618 likes
    Catalina 270
    CA Wabamun - on the orange ball
    It seems odd that they’d be that close to the obstacle to leeward. There’s potentially lots to break possibly hanging outside the rub rail, never mind any possible gelcoat damaging hazards below the waterline.
    What if there were a nice piece of rebar sticking out of the concrete waiting for your nice Mylar main to get hooked up to.
     


  6. thinwater

    thinwater

    Joined Mar 26, 2011
    1,839 posts, 300 likes
    Corsair F-24 MK I
    US Deale, MD
    Honestly, using a bridge for a mark in light winds in a tidal area boarders on poor seamanship by the RC. What with swirling (or no winds) and tides it strikes me as lazy course setting. Let them do the spin.
     


  7. Scotty C-M

    Scotty C-M

    Joined Apr 11, 2012
    315 posts, 20 likes
    Cataina 400 MK II
    US Santa Cruz
    If the crew is a part of the boat, then the act of pushing off is itself a collision. So it would seem that pushing off is "after a collision" and allowed under the rules.
     


  8. Jackdaw

    Jackdaw

    Joined Nov 8, 2010
    8,648 posts, 2,020 likes
    Beneteau First 36.7 & 260
    US Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
    Bridges, cuts, and marked passages have long been used as 'marks' in races, even if in fact they cannot be 'marks' per si. The SIs here (and in most others) allow for motor use within 2 boat lengths of the passages, 4kts max and no passing.
     


  9. thinwater

    thinwater

    Joined Mar 26, 2011
    1,839 posts, 300 likes
    Corsair F-24 MK I
    US Deale, MD
    That makes sense, though it looks like they tried it without the motor.

    I'm sure it also depends on the bridge. In some places that would be a hazard to navigation for other users.
     


  10. Daveinet

    Daveinet

    Joined Sep 20, 2014
    844 posts, 137 likes
    Rob Legg RL24
    US Chain O'Lakes
    Can they do the pena
    Can you do the penalty turn within 2 boat lengths of the passage? The rules say your spin must be immediate :)
     


  11. Jackdaw

    Jackdaw

    Joined Nov 8, 2010
    8,648 posts, 2,020 likes
    Beneteau First 36.7 & 260
    US Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
    Actually the rule says: RRS44.2

    'After getting well clear of other boats and as soon after the incident as possible'
     



Too hot? INSTANT BIMINI ESTIMATES
Low prices, custom fit, no-wait estimates
Flexible steel chafe pads
Innovative new product made of flexible, laser cut stainless steel. Must see!
Stainless documentation placard
Who said a documentation placard cant be beautiful? Brushed stainless with laser-fused numerals.
Mainsail covers
Pre-patterned mainsail covers to fit your boat