restoring holiday 19

Apr 22, 2015
newport holiday 20 Tennessee river
well after three years of buying new parts and paint we are restoring sonictide, our Newport holiday 19/20. I thought I would post pics of the teardown to show others and post pics during restoration. any suggestions are welcomed. this will be my first restoration. my husband has helped his father his whole life with a 52' Atkins ketch and a few other sailboats so this is my son,13, and my first restore. .this will be a complete refit. all screws, turnbuckle bodies and cleats will be replaced with bronze( my hubby is very salty....) I'm using 1/8 swageless fittings and currently working on rudder since its too hot to paint.

Attachments

Last edited:
Jun 13, 2015
Newport Holiday 20 Lititz, Pa.
Hey! Let's proclaim a Holiday!

Wow, how cool is this!!!

I just got a Holiday 20 - and I'm just beginning to mess with it, too!

Pic shows my family and I(Circa 1973) out for the day...... Not really. Pic from web(Maybe a Newport catalog photo?)...

Other pics are the "new" boat, post first power-wash.

The 19 appears quite similar, other than "port hole" shape.

1. How are the top and bottom parts put together?

2. How did you get it apart? Don't know as I will go that far, but, it's tempting... I can see the pieces of foam down inside mine through a small deck plate - looks like quite a bit... Good!

3. Not really looking forward to the "fractional rig" on the 20. I can see, with the mast laying in my backyard, that the top(Above shrouds and stays) is already bent to a slight degree. We'll see.