Replacing Deck Organizer 86-95 model

Aug 19, 2017
Catalina 1985 22 new design SANGER
I recently purchased a 1986 new style Catalina 22. The PO had taken the original deck organizers off and replaced them with an after market style. When he did this he just drilled in 2 SS screws at the end of each Organizer. I removed them and ordered the replacements from CD. After cleaning up his mess it seems that he tried various different things to attach the new organizer. including braking off a screw in the side of the original tapped hole. My question is can I just drill through the block and trough bolt the organizer like on the older models. I am finding the PO who was a mechanical engineer by trade was also the master of zip ties and drywall screws.

Mar 20, 2015
C&C 30 Mk1 Winnipeg
can I just drill through the block and trough bolt the organizer like on the older models.
All depends on the block you are using. The ones I see listed at CD are thru-bolted already so there is no need to drill through the block ?

Or do you mean using the block as a guide, drill through the deck ?

I'd thru-bolt it if possible.

Last edited:

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
If the hole is over the mast support beam... you may need a very long fastener to through bolt one end. My experience is that under normal conditions the screws will work.... unless.. you exert a lot of effort on the halyard...which I did when trying to set up a static line for a mast climbing system... bingo!!! popped the SS screwed organizer block right out of the deck. Got a new double organizer from Garhaurer, determined to through bolt... but needed the longest 1/4 bolt WM had to clear through the beam... Couple of fender washers for insurance and now I have a confidence in their security.

AaronD

Aug 10, 2014
Catalina 22 9874 Newberg, OR / Olympia, WA