Reefing

Jan 14, 2016
Catalina 309 Geraldton
Hi All,

I seeking advice on reefing Catalina 309. I needed to reef the other day but struggled to tack upwind as I have to much sail in the rear of the main. Can someone explain in simple terms how this is done. It appears that there is no where to secure the reef on the mast, just the sheet onto the boom bracket.

Also is there a spinnaker setup for this model?

Finally, I'm new to sailing and enjoy reading the posts.

Regards David

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX
I've got a couple of diagrams you might like. Hope they help!
reefing2.jpg
reefing_10.jpg

May 1, 2011
Pearson 37 Lusby MD
seeking advice on reefing Catalina 309. I needed to reef the other day but struggled to tack upwind as I have to much sail in the rear of the main.
Did you ease the mainsheet so the mainsail wasn't powering the boat?

Jul 14, 2015
Catalina 30 Stillhouse Hollow Marina
I seeking advice on reefing Catalina 309. I needed to reef the other day but struggled to tack upwind as I have to much sail in the rear of the main.

Start the motor to tack into the wind, ease the halyard. One of the setups shown by justsomeguy needs to already be in place, then pull sail onto boom and tie in place. Re-tighten the halyard

Aug 1, 2011
Catalina 270 255 Wabamun. Welcome to the marina
David, do you have reef padeyes in the sail and did your boat come with the single line reefing system?

Jun 4, 2009
Catalina 309 Swantown Marina Olympia, WA
David, The C309 came with in mast furling. Is that what you have or was it changed? With inmast furling you just roll it back into the mast the amount that you want to reef then adjust the rod kicker to get better sail shape as needed. You don't have reefing lines on the boom or the mast.

Jan 14, 2016
Catalina 309 Geraldton
I have 2 reefing lines and no mast in furling main sail... will check on the padeye setup...

RoyS

Jun 3, 2012
Hunter 33 Steamboat Wharf, Hull, MA