Quick Release of Jib Sheets

Mar 23, 2015
Catalina 22 MK-II Dillon, CO
Hi Guys,
Well, I need to pull my boat from the lake in two weeks so this is a question for next year, but I am relatively new to sailing and I was knocked down a few weeks ago. Put the fear of God in me ...
I have had many good suggestions on how to better control boat heal on this forum (thanks) but have a question on setup. The appended pic shows that I have a cam cleat for the sheet next to the winch. This works great but the line is very difficult to release under stress, i.e., exactly when I want to if I start to feel "uncomfortable" while the boat is healing. Any recommendations for a better set up that allows easy release under tension.
Thanks, as usual, for the info.
carlos

Attachments

Jun 29, 2010
Beneteau First 235 Lake Minnetonka, MN
Pulling straight up does not pull it out quickly? Cam cleats are kind of the standard for securing the jib sheets if you don't have self-tailers. Maybe someone has a different design that works better but a good yank upwards should pull it out.

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
Your's looks fine. Theoretically, you should be able to release the sheet by just yanking the sheet upward... but it can be difficult when sheet is under a lot of tension. Cam cleats work better if you pull back and up. If you can't pull back under load... wait till the sail starts to luff to relieve a little tension.... Or you can stick the handle back in the winch and grind it back a tad to release... then remove handle before throwing off the sheet. When you're ready to cast off completely.... pull the sheet straight up off the drum... don't try to unwind it.

Don't winch the sail down too hard in the first place.

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish