Pulling Rudder 97 40.5

Mar 16, 2015
none none n/a
Hey people. I've found a good deal on a 40.5 with a few problems I'm willing to take on. One of them is the rudder needs repair/replacing. I talked with Hunter USA and they can build it and ship it to the boats location cheaper than I could get someone to repair it (I'm no expert with fiberglass).

My question is can the rudder be changed without hauling the boat or is it a haul only job?

May be a dumb question but planning a head ya know.

Thanks

Feb 10, 2004
Hunter 40.5 Warwick, RI
I imagine that you can do almost anything given enough people, skill, the right tools and luck. I can say that the rudder shaft tube extends above the waterline, so you shouldn't take on water if the rudder is pulled.
However, I would not try this trick. I think there are just too many things that could go wrong. I think the easiest way would be to prep the rudder to be removed while at a slip and then have the boat lifted by a travel lift, and while in the lift swap the rudder.
How does Hunter tell you to do the job? They should be the experts.

Mar 16, 2015
none none n/a
I imagine that you can do almost anything given enough people, skill, the right tools and luck. I can say that the rudder shaft tube extends above the waterline, so you shouldn't take on water if the rudder is pulled.
However, I would not try this trick. I think there are just too many things that could go wrong. I think the easiest way would be to prep the rudder to be removed while at a slip and then have the boat lifted by a travel lift, and while in the lift swap the rudder.
How does Hunter tell you to do the job? They should be the experts.
That's pretty much the way I looked at it. Promised someone I would ask online and ask Hunter (haven't been able to ask them as of yet but will on Tuesday).

Thanks

Ted

Jan 26, 2005
C&C 110 Bay Shore, Long Island, NY