Please advise: Newbie is about to purchase first boat!

Feb 4, 2018
Hunter 33 Cherubini unsure
I have zero experience with boats and I am desperate to learn sailing. My future plans involve sailing abroad. I was originally looking at very small sailboats to learn on, but read a few times that these boats are just as easy to handle. Would anyone be willing to advise:

https://greenville.craigslist.org/boa/d/ft-hunter-sailboat/6475780843.html

I think the price seems very fair and the condition seems to be very well for the age and price. My goal with this boat would be to keep it docked in the lake while I learn the first year and then eventually when I am comfortable, moving it to Charleston and painting the bottom and sides when we complete the move. Eventually sailing to the Bahamas and Fl. Keys would be a goal.

Any and all opinions are welcome here.

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
Without being able to inspect the hull, keel rigging and sails, it's impossible to tell if it's worth buying. Any one of those, if damaged or unusable can exceed the asking price

Feb 4, 2018
Thanks! I am hoping this boat turns out to be what we are looking for. Anyone know a surveyor in the area that could check into it or tell me what to expect for that to cost?

Kermit

Jul 31, 2010
AquaCat 12.5 17342 Wateree Lake, SC
I see the boat is in Greenville. Where in SC are you? I live in Sumter and sail on Lake Murray.
Welcome to the forum and to sailing!

Feb 4, 2018
I'm in Summerville, close to Charleston. Due to my work schedule the location limits me to spending time with the boat to every other weekend.

Kermit

Jul 31, 2010
One reason I volunteered to be on the Board of Stewards at our sailing club is so I would have an excuse to go to the boat once a month. So I know the feeling.