Painting bottom

Oct 28, 2018
Hunter 31 Duncan Bay
This is my first time painting the bottom of a boat this size. Hunter 31. I assume I should back off each of the cradle pad to paint under them. I am not sure the best way to work this.
Do I need to rig temporary support for each one, or is it safe to pull one at a time? The aft support goes across the full width so I guess I should prop that up somehow. It looks like these spots were left unpainted in the past. We will be stripping it and repainting as soon as it gets warm again.
Any advice would be helpful.

Attachments

Jan 5, 2017
Beneteau First 38 Lyall Harbour Saturna Island
Looks a little chilly to be painting. I usually have a couple of extra jack stands to move around. If you're doing it a yard they may want to move the pads themselves.

Apr 7, 2016
Beneteau First 305 Seward, Alaska
I’m no expert for sure, but I thought you are supposed to have 4 stands for square stability, then a bow stand with an optional stern stand. If you had one spare, place it next to the one you are removing. Then remove the old one. Rinse and repeat with each stand.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
As suggested above.
Or
Paint everything as is, then, when paint is set, ask the yard to shift the boat forward or back the length of the pads.

-Will (Dragonfly)

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 34 Alameda CA
Our yard will do one move of the pads for free. However we've never done that. Instead we ask to be put in the travelift at noon before they break for lunch. We paint the spots and about 10 minutes before lunch is over we hit them again with a second coat. The boat gets splashed and we've never seen any difference in growth in those spots after 34 years. They look the same at the next haulout as the rest of the hull. That's with the solvent based paint ( Z-spar B91). Dunno about water based paint.

Jan 24, 2017
Hunter 34 Toms River Nj