Paint Job Failure

Dec 11, 2015
Hunter 25 Plymouth
I need some advice please. I started painting my boat after detailed prep work and noticed that while tipping the brush strokes were significant so I continued on just rolling not tipping and the paint looked great. I then painted the starboard side by simply rolling and it came out great. My problem now is correcting the section of the port side I tipped ( I did use penetrol). Can I sand this paint after a week of drying? Will it do the smutch thing and foul my sandpaper (used Rustoleum Marine Top Side paint). Wisdom appreciated!

Apr 16, 2017
Federation NCC-1701 Riverside
a week later, no problem, thats ideal for topside. how many coats do you have down now and what is the angle of the surface compared to the horizon? if horizontal not much sanding is needed if recoating.

i made that same mistake. i also made the mistake of using a blow dryer to pop air bubbles. endef up with garage floor dust all over my paint job.

if you are going to roll on more coats put another 2 on, then apply a thin coat with a windshield wiper blade, that fills orange peal. you might not need to sand by then.

TomY

Alden Forum Moderator
Jun 22, 2004
Alden 38' Challenger yawl Rockport Harbor
A week should be plenty for the paint to harden up for sanding.

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
If you follow @BobbyFunn 's advice and put on several layers, you will have enough thickness to do a final buff job once it hardens. That will give you the glossy finish you are looking for.

Apr 16, 2017
with a buffer ; )

Let it dry for about 2 weeks first. start with a light wet sanding at 300-500 to knock down defects and get rid of orange peel, then work up to 1500.

from there its "standard" polishing instructions if there is such a thing.

it rustoleum topside, so if you think some orange peel is good enough you wont neef to polish. itll look glossy just by itself.

i would only polish a centerboard or rudder.

Last edited: