Overflow from Golf Cart Batteries

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
So I'm still learning about my C310, but the previous owner was also on SBO and did the following battery and charging upgrade that he documented in the thread below. I've noticed on several occasions liquid on top of some of the batteries when returning after being away. When I checked the level they were actually all the way to the bottom of the fill in most cases and past in a couple. My setup is the ProNautic 1240P, 4 6V Duracell Golf cart batteries, SLIGC110, 208AH wired as a single bank 12V at 416 AH on switch 2, a 12v, 105 AH for starter on switch 1, stock original alternator 55.

This is the original thread, everything functions well and running the GC back for all house load (cabin lights, fans, fridge, radios and pumps) for hours works great. The setup has even run just the fridge for several days when the shore power was discounted.

https://forums.sailboatowners.com/index.php?threads/battery-charger-question.184630/page-4

I know there are some issues,
1) The orientation is wrong, but the space in this location can't fit all 5 batteries port starboard.
2) There is no strap holding the packs down,
3) The single 12V is in a battery box and secured, but is tucked up under the seat frame that to even access it requires unscrewing the frame and removing it.
4) The GC are not in a box and there is no drip tray.

Other then fixing these issues, what should I investigate next time out to see if the overflow is because the cells are too full or something else?

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
One thing many people fail to do is look for the manufacturer's instructions for a particular battery. They provide such information as maximum bulk charging current, recommended acceptance voltage level, equalization voltage, and fluid levels.

Number one, don't add water unless the battery is fully charged;