Ordering a new in-mast furling mainsail - correct boom angle?

Jul 7, 2014
Hunter Passage 42 Jacksonville
I am preparing to order a new furling mainsail. It's my first time ordering a furling mainsail and it has been a problem since we bought the boat, so I don't really trust any of the measurements of the existing sail. I'm looking for advice/info on the correct angle of the boom when measuring.

I've attached a pic of where I set it when I measured. Can anyone with an in-mast furled mainsail let me know how this position looks?

Thanks,
Daniel

Attachments

Jun 25, 2004
Corsair F24 Mk1 003 San Francisco Bay, CA
I am preparing to order a new furling mainsail. It's my first time ordering a furling mainsail and it has been a problem since we bought the boat, so I don't really trust any of the measurements of the existing sail. I'm looking for advice/info on the correct angle of the boom when measuring.

I've attached a pic of where I set it when I measured. Can anyone with an in-mast furled mainsail let me know how this position looks?

Thanks,
Daniel
Every manufacturer of furling masts, Zspar in your case, publishes sailmakers’ instructions. Every competent sailmaker consults the specs. Once you identify the model number of your mast and boom, your sailmaker can look it up.

https://www.usspars.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/sailmkr.pdf

Your sail loft sail salesperson should know this. If s/he doesn’t know how to guide you, find another place to buy your new sail.

Judy Blumhorst
Retired sail loft owner

Ward H

Nov 7, 2011
Catalina 30 Mk II Barnegat, NJ
@DrJudyB
Saw your tag line and immediately jumped over to the Hyde Sails Direct website. Enjoy your cruising.

Jul 7, 2014
Hi Judy,
This is great information but I have no idea what I'm looking at. Is the 6% number on the second page indicating the boom angle?
Thanks,
Daniel

Jun 25, 2004
Hi Judy,