Opinions Sought: C&C29

Dec 5, 2013
O'Day 23 Marion, MA
I have an opportunity to acquire a 1977 C+C 29, and would like to hear what people think about such a boat (sight unseen). Been hearing radically different opinions of the Atomic 4 gas engine. I am currently in my fourth year with an O'Day 23 on Buzzards Bay. Mostly it's single-handing days and coastal overnights but occasionally out with family or friends. Alas, no headroom, tiny sink, and porta-potty....

Nov 26, 2012
Hunter 34 Berkeley
The C&C are good boats but sight unseen? That is your decision. The atomic 4 works fine but comes with a little more fuss than a diesel. You need a blower fan to clear fumes out of the engine compartment which I am sure the boat has and some folks like to run fresh water through the engine at the end of the day to reduce corrosion.

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Back in the day, I looked at a 29 the same time I get my C&C 34. The boats had lots in common. While now dated, the styling is still nice and it's a good looking boat. The first gen 29 is NOT as good a boat as its gen 2 replacement, which oddly enough is almost 1.5 feet shorter but still called the C&C 29. The gen 1 boats are rather tender, not not a lot of fun downwind under spinnaker. You need a 150 to get it moving, a pain.

Generally well built. Look hard for wet decks.

Dec 5, 2013
O'Day 23 Marion, MA
I meant to solicit comments "sight unseen" -- I myself would take a good hard look at the boat, have a survey done, and sail her before I even considered making an offer. Sorry if that wasn't clear. Thanks for the comments so far!

Jul 27, 2011
Bavaria 38E Alamitos Bay
I've known two C&C's near that vintage with leaks at the deck joint. I'd check it out; no way buy an old sailboat w/o inspection.:rolleyes:

Mar 26, 2016
C&C 30 Mk I Silver Harbour