Newbie with a question.

scoker

Nov 15, 2017
Macgregor 25 41 valle de bravo
Hello, I wanted to introduce myself, I am brand new owner of an 84 Mac 25 registered in Valle de Bravo, Mex, I want to get to work on the boat since it needs a lot of love, on the outside its all great, new paint work, sails are ok, but the cabin is kind of a mess, electrical system seems to be taken out, woodwork hast termites, etc, needs a makeover, as said in the begining I have no experience so I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction as to where to start in this endeavor? I would be day sailing mainly on the lake this year so I can gather some experience, then I would like to take some short 2-3 days trips along the coastline. Thank you.

Last edited:
Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX
Welcome.

The most important wood on the boat is the 1/2 inch plywood bulkhead just under the companionway. It provides the structural rigidity needed to support the keel and keel winch.

Easily removed while the boat's on the trailer, just trace out a new piece from whatever remains are left by the termites and bolt it in place.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
I don't know the Mac at all. I'm new to the mariner I just bought. The mantra everyone on the mariner web site chants is, don't knock yourself out getting everything perfect. Get her ready to sail and go sailing. Of course, you have to make sure she's ready to sail. Macs have center boards, I think, make sure the CB comes down and goes back up without problems. Get to know your rigging and check that the rudder won't fall off;) and go sailing.
- Will (Dragonfly)

Jun 3, 2004
Macgregor 25 So. Cal.
The compression post just below the mast on inside of the boat should be inspected also and replaced if needed.

Welcome.

The most important wood on the boat is the 1/2 inch plywood bulkhead just under the companionway. It provides the structural rigidity needed to support the keel and keel winch.