New to Forum: Ask all sailors

Jan 13, 2019
Lockley Newport 23 Portman Marina
Hello everyone. New to this forum and would like to introduce myself. My name is James. I currently day sail a Precision 16 on Lake Hartwell, SC. And, I have an extensive hobby/ goal to completely refit inside and out a 1981 Lockley Newport LN23 that my late wife and I purchased on salvage in 2006. Due to my extended illness, the goal of us stepping-up in boat size became our desire that kept us going in motivation but not able to physically undertake in action. After her passing in 2013, I decided in 2014 to move forward with our original plan and complete the refit project. I have been extensively researching every aspect on how to do this as I have no prior knowledge in boat repair. Mind you that she and I stripped the complete interior down to fiberglass. But from time to time I would like to ask for advice concerning the different repairs as I move through the boat. I believe I know every inch of this boat and where I cannot get, i.e., the bilge, I have put a camera. Thankyou for any help along the way and I hope that I may be able to help others with problems I encountered and solutions I found or were offered.

Aug 28, 2006
Bavaria 35E seattle
Welcome, and good luck with your refit. It will be interesting to get some blow by blow reports on the progress. With pictures, of course!

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
My name is James.
Hi James, welcome to our merry band of skippers and skipper wannabes. Fine group of people here and always willing to help out with opinions, thoughts, advice, etc. Considering the state of your boat, best here to keep a tight focus on those areas you want to address first.