New Sail - h27

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 27_75-84 Wilmington, NC
Hey, just got a used mail in 'excellent' shape from Bacon Sails in Annapolis for my 1984 h27. The new (to me) sail is heavier (6 oz. vs 5 oz. original) made by Shore Sail and is fully battened. The foot is 1 inch shorter than original but the luff is almost 18 inches shorter (29 ft vs. 30'6" orig). Can anyone advise me on what I might expect in terms of sailing characteristics with new set up?

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
You'll lose maybe what, 15% of your mainsail area?

Its also going to move the Center of Effort (CE) of your sailplan forward a bit. That will create a tendency for lee helm.. That might make the boats handling worse, or better it it had strong weather helm to start!

Jun 21, 2007
Hunter Cherubini 36_80-82 Sausalito / San Francisco Bay
Probably will do fine.

On my 1980 Cherubini Hunter 36, I've been using for several years now a used full battened mainsail ex a Catalina 36, standard rig. The foot is about 9" shorter than spec for my boat. And the luff is about 12" short (maybe a bit more).

Works fine. I've still got to reef it when the wind gets to the 15 kt range. I've not had tendency for lee helm -- still a safe weather helm with any sort of wind. My Genoa is a 135, so I've got plenty of sail area.

Our boats are mast head rigged, so the head sail is the main motive force for the boat anyway. My boat sails awful with just the main up. Even, with the official spec'd main sail. But does very well with only the head sail.