New purchase and new sailor

Sep 26, 2014
Catalina 30 mkI Herrington Harbor
Hello to all sailboat owners. I'm new to this thread and new to sailing. I'm going to try and start a new thread about my new project. A 1982 Catalina 30 mkI tall rig, deep fin keel. It's currently in storage at Herrington Harbor and I hope to get her ready for next season. A little history about the boat. It's been sitting for about 3 years in storage. The previous owner took great care of it and upgraded a lot of the systems already. Unfortunately has left it neglected for about 3 years now. Good for me is that he's agreed to let me take it off his hands. My goal for this winter is to get her back in the water. The hull needs to be repainted. The deck has oxidation but no soft spots. The batteries need to be replaced. The engine, a universal atomic diesel, is not running. The port lights are leaking. Everything needs to be cleaned. And she can go back in the bay.
I've started to take the ports out. After I've sealed them back up, I plan to give her a wash down and start painting the bottom hull before winter. When it starts to get colder, I'll work on getting the engine running. I'll finish painting topside of the hull in the spring and patch the deck of some minor cracks on the gelcoat. Hopefully by starting this thread I can get some help and also help others.
Wish me luck guys!

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
Some bottom paints will oxidize if left out of the water for a prolonged period. Make sure you paint in the Spring and follow the mfg's directions for when it has to go back in.

Good luck with the new boat

Sep 26, 2014
Thanks. Should I wait to paint the bottom hull til spring? I guess I can just start cleaning her out and washing off the dirt on deck.

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
Thanks. Should I wait to paint the bottom hull til spring? I guess I can just start cleaning her out and washing off the dirt on deck.